Brave and Bold

Mon 25 Mar to Sun 7 Apr

Brave and Bold

After playing packed-out extra shows at Melbourne Fringe, Doug Rintoul is coming to a Melbourne International Comedy Festival near you. (This one.)

Doug tried to become the ideal, cookie-cutter version of himself - and it sucked. His WAAPA music theatre degree left him with more questions than answers about who he really was, and threw him into a mould that he just didn’t seem to fit. But he’s done trying to fit into someone else’s definition of success. He’s ready to lean into who he really is.

Brave and Bold is a whirlwind of original songs, sketches, characters and jokes from a music theatre tragic (in recovery). With music that jumps from 2000s boy bands, to doo-wop, to samba, you’ll be swept through Doug’s fedora phase, some exciting news from Dua Lipa, and the audition process for Les Miserables.

Sometimes, being yourself is the most brave and bold thing you can do. (That’s the title of the show, so it’s very clever.)

Melb Fringe 2023 Comedy Judges’ Pick
“Ironic, thoughtful, and most of all funny.” Stage Whispers
“Charming and ever relevant… a testament to his strengths as an entertainer.” Theatre Travels
“Great show for all - but a MUST for music theatre nerds.” Melbourne Fringe Comedy Judge

Dates

Monday 25 March 2024 5:30pm
Tuesday 26 March 2024 5:30pm
Wednesday 27 March 2024 5:30pm
Thursday 28 March 2024 5:30pm
Friday 29 March 2024 5:30pm
Saturday 30 March 2024 5:30pm
Sunday 31 March 2024 5:30pm
Monday 01 April 2024 5:30pm
Tuesday 02 April 2024 5:30pm
Wednesday 03 April 2024 5:30pm
Thursday 04 April 2024 5:30pm
Friday 05 April 2024 5:30pm
Saturday 06 April 2024 5:30pm
Sunday 07 April 2024 5:30pm

Prices

Full $39
Concession $35
Member $31
Group (6+) $31
Tight Tuesday $30
Early Bird (until 31 Jan) $29
Broke Butterfly $15

BUY TICKETS

Arrive Early

At least 30 minutes before the show. Our performances start bang on time and it takes a hot second to welcome you into the building.

Under 18s

The Butterfly Club is a licensed venue. Under 18s can only attend if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.