The Very Model of a Modern Major Musical

Fri 8 to Sun 17 Apr

The Very Model of a Modern Major Musical

A frantic hour of musical comedy written for a cast of ninety, performed by a cast of two.

Andrew McClelland foolishly spent 2020 writing a full-length, full-cast comic operetta based on the musical clichés and ridiculous plots of Gilbert & Sullivan (but with the pesky sexism and colonialism removed).

Joined by his over-talented, ever-eager accompanist, Martine Wengrow, they are determined to bring his musical vision to life, just much shorter and more reasonably staged.

“Clever musical arrangement, strong vocals and high-spirited hamminess only adds to the hilarity in an hour of musical comedy that gives Gilbert & Sullivan an outrageously silly modern gloss.” – Cameron Woodhead, The Age.

Dates

Friday 08 April 2022 7:00pm
Saturday 09 April 2022 7:00pm
Sunday 10 April 2022 7:00pm
Monday 11 April 2022 7:00pm
Tuesday 12 April 2022 7:00pm
Wednesday 13 April 2022 7:00pm
Thursday 14 April 2022 7:00pm
Friday 15 April 2022 7:00pm
Saturday 16 April 2022 7:00pm
Sunday 17 April 2022 7:00pm

Prices

Full $35
Concession $31
Group (6+) $28
Tight Tuesday $28
Member $28

BUY TICKETS

Under 18s

The Butterfly Club is a licensed venue. Under 18s can only attend if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Vaccines

In compliance with government requirements, all patrons must be fully immunised against Covid 19 (or have a government recognised exemption) in order to enter the building.

Arrive Early

Our shows start on time. Please arrive 30 minutes early so as to have time to check in with the QR code, collect your ticket, show us your vax status, make your way to the theatre, etc etc.